My big, fat basement project

26 Mar

(cue “Halloween” theme music)

Many of you have one.

Some of you have tackled yours.

Some of you lock the door and refuse to “go down there“.

Some are dark and damp and smelly.

Some are full of junk, yesterday’s castoff’s…  Someone else’s long forgotten favorite toys/clothes/chair…

Yeah, I’m talking ’bout basements.

I have one.  And I’ve been battling it (off and on) since last November.

You see, I’m a project “starter”.  A great and heroic “leader” of the charge.  A natural delegator.  I’m not a good “closer”, finisher, wrapper-upper of things.  Especially tiresome, tedious things that require heavy lifting and smelly, shellac-based liquids…

Now I’m good at the follow through if it’s something I can finish in one fell swoop, as it were.  But things that require doing, waiting, then doing some more, you’ll often lose me during the “waiting” period – especially if there is more than one “waiting” period (do… wait… do… wait some more… do some more… wait – ooooh look at the pretty butterfliiiiies…..).

So that brings me back to my *big fat basement project*.

I’m blogging about it, honestly, in an attempt to actually try to stay on track with it.  I’ve now been working on it for 4 months and it’s nowhere neeear finished.  Hopefully by putting it all out here and posting about it regularly, bit by bit, it will keep me focused on actually completing the project, which is to be my new office space.  Not having it finished is keeping me from moving forward with other business projects, so, dragging my feet on this has really affected me beyond just the issue of *aesthetics* (which, trust me, is HUGE).

What have I actually managed to get done?

So far I’ve painted 7/8 of the floor.

Yeah, 7/8 lol.  Here’s why:

There was furniture downstairs there that was going to be moved upstairs in to the space that I was using as my office.  My office furniture would then be moved downstairs to the basement.  Unfortunately, there was no space in the office to have both sets of furniture, and, since my single car garage is choc-o-bloc full of, well, crap, the stuff couldn’t go out there, either.  So it had to stay down in the basement and get shuffled around as I tried to get the floor done.  The last little slice of floor that was holding the massive pile of furniture never got painted – even though I originally began painting the floor back in November and the furniture that was there was moved long ago now…

And floor painting was the first and most essential part of the project.  My basement had horrible blue and white vinyl flooring.  It was in good condition – no splits or lifting – but it was uuuuuugly!  New flooring wasn’t really in my budget – frankly re-doing the basement wasn’t in my budget lol – so I got resourceful and figured out how to paint it….

Here’s a photo of the basement “before”.  Note that this picture was from the previous home owners (I would NEVER put anything in my home with UT on it haha!).  Once I moved in it was just full of junk.  Unfortunately it’s the only photo I have and I had to pull it from a really bad PDF, but you can still see all of its ugly shining through lol….

So *not* fabulous 😦

I will tell you all about my adventures in floor painting in my next post (this one’s already too long).  And I will tell you all about counter painting… and cabinet refinishing… and free rugs (yep, I said FREE)… and carpet removal (yucky stair carpet!) and all of my other fun (and cheap!) DIY and decorating adventures in future posts.  Ooh, and tips and tricks are welcome and greatly ENCOURAGED (I’ll take all the help I can get)!

I’m looking forward to having you along on my journey to complete my *big fat basement project*!

xx and oo’s

One Response to “My big, fat basement project”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My big, fat basement project: Episode #1, “Floor painting” « - March 30, 2011

    […] Mar In my introduction to “My big fat basement project” I mentioned the first part of the project, which was […]

Leave a Reply

